Winter wanders in Winnipeg: what a difference a week can make

When do you find yourself to be your happiest, most in the moment, at peace version of yourself? In my case, it is often an afternoon spent exploring my surroundings by bicycle and photographing all that inspires me. It’s a delight to actively seek out the beauty and intrigue that lies just within my grasp, and I love realizing all the greatness Winnipeg has to offer.

What a difference 8 days can make. The last photograph on my camera was captured the previous weekend, as I gave my legs a rest after cycling against the wind on a near-unfathomably mild November day. The scene has since changed dramatically as a blizzard finally hit and coated the ground with snow, plunged temperatures to the point where it barely gets above freezing, and transformed the wind into icy gusts.

Still, it’s not all that bad, is it? -8 and sunny is perfect for a leisurely walk around one’s neighbourhood. Armstrong Point is an under-appreciated and lovely part of the city, full of actual heritage homes and muted riverside views. It’s hard to believe such peace and quiet can be found in such a central location, tucked just past Wolseley and West Broadway. And this is just one of Winnipeg’s many charms. 🙂

As a bonus, I discovered the Cornish library, located in a hundred-year-old building and within walking distance of my house. For a smaller branch, they had quite a decent selection of literature.

 

How do you like to enjoy the snow in your part of the world?

2 thoughts on “Winter wanders in Winnipeg: what a difference a week can make

  1. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen live jack ‘o lanterns (or Chinese lanterns). Lovely with a bit of snow dust.

    I tend to like snow when it’s fluffy but dry. Best enjoyed at twilight when going for a walk with lights from homes, Christmas lights, etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

