Beauty around every turn of Ireland’s Slea Head Drive

IMG_0517

IMG_0507

Ireland is a beautiful country. From the Cliffs of Moher to Killarney, I never failed to appreciate my gorgeous surroundings.

And with that in mind, let me say that the 42-kilometre Slea Head Drive circuit around the Dingle Peninsula was likely my favourite place in the entire country.

IMG_0514

Signs along the way ensured that cyclists and motorists never got lost…

IMG_0509

…and aside from the stunning coastal views, there were many attractions to see along the way. I visited a Celtic prehistory museum that had fossils, stonework, metal jewelry, and lots of other historical artifacts. It was a neat place, and a fair deal at 5 euros. IMG_0445IMG_0449The ‘beehive huts’ are ancient dwellings built hundreds if not thousands of years ago. They were repaired and maintained by local groups.
IMG_0467

IMG_0474

With yogurt produced within the county and blackberries plucked off a bush on the side of the road, my snack was about as local as it gets! 
IMG_0488
One of the cutest moments was when I stopped to look at some stonework carved by a local artisan. He was nowhere to be seen, but a border collie was in the yard, keen to play a game of fetch with me. 
IMG_0415 IMG_0416IMG_0505IMG_0425

One of the beaches I stopped at was truly fantastic. The patterns the waves created in the sand looked similar to all sorts of organic patterns- blood vessels, tree branches, river systems- reminding me that we are all interconnected.

IMG_0435IMG_0427 IMG_0456 IMG_0461I couldn’t have done it without my favourite traveling companion! 🙂 
IMG_0498

What a stunning part of the world! Have you been to Ireland? Where’s the loveliest place you’ve visited?

Leave a Reply

