Verdant: an afternoon at Seoul Forest

IMG_5210IMG_5207 On a fine May day, I had the pleasure of exploring Seoul Forest with my friend Soozie. I had long ago given up expectations of an untamed forest in Seoul- littered with pine needles and filled with gigantic wild trees- and instead expected to see benches, fountains, and street food vendors. I was not wrong, and it was still a pleasant way to spend an afternoon!

IMG_5227

Setting up our blanket to play Skip-Bo and enjoy some homemade makgeolli!

IMG_5208 IMG_5216 IMG_5219Although much of the park was clearly kept tidy for picnickers and afternoon wanderers, there was much more to discover. The ecological forest is packed with pine trees and fine multi-use trails. There was a wetland area and a cultural art park (with an outdoor stage, skate park and visitors’ centre) that we didn’t even get a chance to see. Visit Korea has more detailed info on the park’s offerings. Seoul Forest definitely covers more ground than I initially thought, and I’m glad I may have a chance to explore it further tomorrow.

IMG_5236IMG_5262 After we’d had enough of sitting in one spot, we decided to wander, making our way towards the deer corral. In retrospect, I’m not sure why this was so intriguing to me, seeing as I’ve seen literally hundreds (if not thousands) of wild deer growing up, but hey, that was our plan!

On the way, we found the strangest bubble- it smelled mildly of soap and was quite resistant to popping!

IMG_5241

This is the creepiest picture. I love it!

IMG_5239 IMG_5243 IMG_5247 IMG_5254 IMG_5256

Seoul Forest can be accessed from either Seoul Forest station, exit 3 (Bundang line) or Ttukseom station, exit 8 (line 2). While not in a particularly central locale, I feel that it is well-worth visiting on a day with pleasant weather.IMG_5264 IMG_5266Having seen enough of the forest, we found a local restaurant and enjoyed a dish called dalkbokkeumtang- chicken, potatoes and onion in a flavourful sauce, served with rice and a nice assortment of banchan (side dishes). Yum!
IMG_5267 IMG_5268 Finally, we stopped by Konkuk University to have a smoothie and check out the nightlife. This is what I imagined all of Korea might look like before I actually moved here. 😉

IMG_5270I feel that there’s nothing more important for cities to have than quality parks and forests. What’s your favourite urban green space, anywhere in the world? 

4 thoughts on “Verdant: an afternoon at Seoul Forest

Leave a Reply

