Travel theme: outdoors

Taking inspiration from Where’s My Backpack’s Travel Theme challenge was no hard sell: I’ve always loved any excuse to be outside. Picnics, walks, fishing, yoga in a park, or getting wrapped up in a good book for a couple of hours- sign me up for any of these.

IMG_4809

I grew up on a farm in the Canadian Prairies, and while it may have been isolating at times, it did allow me to escape to the woods any time I wanted. I could go look for wildflowers in bloom, say hello to the horses, and watch the Canada geese do what they do best- being assholes!

IMG_0212

Vietnam’s glorious Ha Long Bay. This is a truly beautiful place.

IMG_0229
IMG_2260

Seoraksan Park in eastern South Korea allowed me the opportunity to enjoy the fall foliage- with hundreds of other brightly-clad hikers.

IMG_4355Australia’s outback was incredible. Here, hikers are dwarfed by the scale of the very impressive Kata Tjuta.

IMG_9194

Crusing in a rickety speedboat in 4000 Islands, along the border between Cambodia and Laos.

 

IMG_9206

A hammock to enjoy the river and fresh air from my balcony. Not a bad way to relax at all!

IMG_9634

A fun, spontaneous bicycle trip while in Luang Prabang, Laos. We biked along the main road until we reached the countryside.

IMG_9660

Views from the top of a temple in Luang Prabang, Laos.

I hope you like to relax outside as much as I do! Which picture was your favourite?

8 thoughts on “Travel theme: outdoors

  1. My favourite photo is the first one.
    I like both to relax at home and outside, tho outside I rather prefer being alone. Oh, I love cities, and can’t imagine living outside a city. 😀 But I love walking in the forests, over the riverbank, sea bank etc.
    I wrote post to the challenge too, about parks in my town. 🙂

    Like

    • I love cities too, and I agree- but I need to have access to decent parks at least. At this point in life, it’s a treat to return home to my farm. I’m glad you liked that first picture!
      I’ll check out your post 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love been outdoors as well! All the pictures are beautiful. But if I have to pick one, it must be the first one in Ha Long Ba. I always wanted to travel to all the countries you present here, and hope I will be able to do so one day soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

