Letters to ourselves: March Reach to Teach blog carnival

Suspend disbelief for one minute here- imagine that you’ve discovered a way to step back in time and connect to your past self. To honour the recently passed Leonard Nimoy, let’s imagine you’ve sighted your younger self in a cave on a frozen ice planet. Here’s the catch, though- your only means of contact is one letter. One letter, full of the advice, thoughts, words of wisdom you wouldn’t have minded hearing before you set off on your most recent adventure. What would you say?

This month I’m hosting the Reach To Teach Teach Abroad Blog Carnival, a monthly series that focuses on providing helpful tips and advice to ESL teachers around the globe. Check out the articles from our participants around the world!  If you’d like to contribute to next month’s Blog Carnival, please get in touch with Dean at dean@reachtoteachrecruiting.com, and he’ll let you know how you can start participating.

This month’s topic is:

Write a letter back to yourself when you were just planning your trip. Give advice, forewarning, hopes and encouragement.

So without further ado, here are some words of wisdom from this month’s Reach to Teach participants!


Post Description:
I learned a lot about myself while in China. At times I was down, and I would love to have known these few tips that I gave myself to set my mind at ease before leaving. Then I think, some things wouldn’t have felt so long at times. 
Author Bio:
I am a lover of culture, travel, and life! I truly believe that life is a gift and the world is meant to explore! Whether you are getting to know your own country or state or fortunate to keep traveling around the world! Coming from a small town in Wisconsin, I was driven enough to find resources to get me around the world! I truly believe that it’s all about becoming the best version of yourself and traveling is one of the best ways to open that part of yourself up!

Excerpt: Three and a half years on and the journey looks almost foreign to the projected journey you had in your head, as you sat there on the bed, overlooking your life in a bag for the next year.

So what should you know now from your future self? What advice, warnings or encouragement can I give you to help you enrich your experience all that more?

Author Bio: My name is Dean, I have been traveling for around 4 years now with a small stint back in my home country. I’m from the UK and I began my teaching career on the island of Bali. I then made the move to Taiwan where I currently reside. Here I have the joy to fulfill my passion for writing by providing ESL/travel related articles to the Reach To Teach website.


Post Description: Here are two letters to different past versions of myself: pre-Spain and pre-Korea me. Although Korea is much fresher, the content stays rather personal in both letters, taking into consideration my own unique situations (and personality!) in each place.
Author Bio: Rebecca Thering is a freelance writer and editor who has lived abroad teaching ESL in Spain and South Korea. Valuing education and things that aren’t things, she inspires and helps others by writing about her experiences abroad, cultural insights and self-improvement pursuits at her blog, Rebe With a Clause.

Post Description: A letter of advice to myself, looking back on my year living and teaching in South Korea.
 
‘Author Bio: Abigail prefers walking to motorized vehicles and likes the idea of slow travel, getting to know a place by building up a routine that absorbs the new culture. Her interests include illustration, editing (film & writing), reviews, boston terriers, artist books, and iPhonography.

And, of course, here’s my post: A Letter to Myself!
That’s all for this month- I hope you’ve enjoyed reading these posts as much as I have! If you were hoping to participate, fear not- shoot me an email in the next day or two and I’ll edit the post to include your article. If you’d like to get involved next month, definitely email Dean at dean@reachtoteachrecruiting.com to learn more. 🙂
Leave a Reply

