Foliage photography and a healthy dash of the bizarre: how the two go hand in hand

Autumn in Korea is dazzling.

IMG_0346

 

IMG_0601

I grew up in Canada, and I’m by no means denying the raw beauty of Parc Mont-Royal or the undulating Gorge Creek Trail in Manitoba once the days turn crisp. I was raised in a remote stretch of the Canadian prairies, complete with trembling, silvery aspen, vibrant sunsets, and an incredible variety of bright wildflowers. But Korea? It’s all new and exciting to me, and I can’t get my camera out fast enough.

IMG_0409

IMG_0345

It is vibrant, crisp and wonderful.

IMG_0569

IMG_0357

And would you like to know what is frequently linked to this photography hobby of mine?

Being weird.

IMG_0572

Damn weird.

IMG_0592

As a Canadian living in Korea, I already stand out. My hair is brown and ever so slightly wavy. My nose is relatively pointy. I’ll never have the natural grace and beauty that Korean women possess effortlessly. Korean children have no problem with bluntly pointing out what makes you different (ie: weird).

Everywhere I go, I attract more notice than a local Korean would. My minor mishaps at the grocery store or in the subway turnstile are noted, usually with benevolent amusement.

I’m already a weirdo here. Why not embrace that?

When I go on a camera-happy adventure, I get right up close and personal. I lay amongst piles of leaves. I snap selfies in the middle of the sidewalk. I get tangled up in bushes. I meticulously arrange maple leaves on my palm as strangers pass by.

IMG_0588

IMG_0577

If you thought, “gee, she must have been lying on her back on the grass to get this angle”- well, you would be correct.

And at the end of the day, why not? Life is short, life is wonderful, being a weird wanderer in East Asia brings me one step closer to living it fully.

Anyway, Korea has enough weird on its own without my adding to it. This is a country that has potato and tomato face masks.

IMG_0100

IMG_0102

You can have a drink at The The The. (the The The The?)

IMG_0289

TVs in elevators.

IMG_0421

Cupcake-patterned golf pants.

IMG_0155

Feel parking.

IMG_0189

This gem in Gupabal subway station.

IMG_0145

This new notebook.

IMG_0296

Happily, I did find one piece of North American oddities- spooky socks!

 

What are your thoughts? Have you visited Korea in autumn? Where are your favourite places around the world to appreciate gorgeous colour-changing trees?

Leave a Reply

