A trail touched by a technicolour paintbrush: autumn in Seoraksan National Park

IMG_2201

Famous park. Autumn foliage. Hiking. Pleasant, sunny autumn weather. Sign me up, absolutely!

That said, Seoraksan National Park is a 4-hour+ journey from Seoul, and I was quite happy to tag along with a Meetup group event headed that way. I joined The Seoul Hangout, Travel and Hiking Group for an afternoon trek on a pleasant autumn Sunday. October 18th, to be exact, which is when peak colour conditions hit Seoraksan this year (yes, there are people tracking these things, just like Japan meticulously predicts the Cherry Blossom Front each spring).

I’ll let the pictures mostly speak for themselves. I played around with colour settings on a few of them. Altered or not, you can appreciate just how stunning the fall foliage is here.

And for those of you in Korea- I recommend joining Meetup groups! It’s a great way to meet new friends and see places it would be a little harder (or just not as fun) to visit on your own. This event was organized by Harry Yoon, a really friendly, awesome guy here. He seems to always be leading events, and I’m not sure when he sleeps!

IMG_2214

Harry’s state for much of the hike. “Look this way and smile!” “Check that area out!” He was certainly a great guide, and we left with some excellent photos to look forward to 🙂

1525619_787114754688398_2757530228969256847_n

Photo credit: Harry Yoon.

 


IMG_2196
IMG_2225

IMG_2227

IMG_2229

IMG_2239

IMG_2240

IMG_2222

From what I’ve observed, South Korea seems like a pretty great place for the elderly to live.

IMG_2244

IMG_2245

IMG_2257

What an excellent spot for a lunch break!

IMG_2252

One of the group members brought dried squid. Slightly sweetened and coated in sesame seeds, it made for an interesting snack.

IMG_2256
IMG_2260

IMG_2277

IMG_2279

 

IMG_2185

IMG_2284

A garden in a temple near the hike’s starting point. Mm, bok choy!

IMG_2290

One of many scenic crossings.

IMG_2295

Yes, I filled up my water bottle with cold, clean mountain water. Yes, I watched the strap on said water bottle be lifted off the rim and swept away with the stream as I watched. Ooops.

IMG_2289

10678777_787127061353834_8237445284510294933_n

I enjoy how the people on the right are super prepared to be photographed, and as we move towards the left that becomes less and less true. (Photo credit: Harry Yoon.)

IMG_2298

A properly Korean meal- bibimbap, steamed fish and Cass beer!

I’m sure the scenery is less stunning in the springtime but I’d love to return- there’s an arduous hike called Dinosaur Valley Ridge I’d love to tackle at some point. However, chilly late fall mornings are creeping in, and I’m content to wait til next year to make that happen. 🙂

3 thoughts on “A trail touched by a technicolour paintbrush: autumn in Seoraksan National Park

  1. We enjoyed the autumn foliage at Seoraksan National Park.
    I will go there in winter to hike the valley covered with white snow .
    Maybe in spring let’s go hiking to the peak, Daechengbong.
    Nice blog!
    Harry

    Like

Leave a Reply

