Don’t cross the yellow line, but do eat the gimbap!

At the Incheon airport.

At the Incheon airport.

IMG_5570

I think I’ll be enjoying these cutesy designs all year- the train that connects to Dongbaek also journeys to Everland, South Korea’s largest theme park.

Annyeong haseyo, friends! My life here teems with possibilities- delicious new foods to sample, mountains to climb (literal and figurative), friendships to form, and streetscapes to soak up. Right now I’m in a hotel a few train stops away from my school. It’s a ‘love motel’, but it’s a lot less sleazy than it sounds- in a country where young people tend to live with their parents until they marry, these motels cater mostly to couples searching for a bit of privacy. My coworker Grace and I (the other new foreign teacher at my school) need to wait til the school apartments are vacant again, we’re hanging out here for the time being.

IMG_5609

The Mo Tel El Eh Gang Seh. (Motel Elegance). Korean translations of English words are fun!

The public transport system here is complex for a newcomer, and Grace and I have made what feels like every mistake that can possibly be made trying to make sense of it- entering through the wrong gate, backtracking, and going through on the opposite side, only to have alarms beep at us. Waiting for a train on one side of the station, hearing it approach, and moving to the other side, only to realize every other commuter is already way ahead of us and waiting on the proper side. And of course, the day I’ll never forget- jokingly putting my foot across the yellow line, only to have alarms sound and an angry recording yell at me in Korean- I’m just glad no one else was waiting on the platform as we died laughing! 😀 I’m sure we’ll get the hang of it, eventually. Maybe??

IMG_5581

Go on. Put your foot across the yellow line. I dare ya. Don’t you want to? (I did.)

IMG_5555

Infinity escalator.

This is Grace, fellow teacher from Colorado/Manila. All around certified Cool Person. Fellow rider of infinity escalators.

IMG_5563

Really though, the trains are fantastic, and it’s quite a departure after a city with pothole-ridden streets, no trains, trams or subways to speak of, and even main bus routes only running every 20 minutes or so on a Sunday. Winnipeg, I will not miss your transit system!

IMG_5562

Going through the turnstiles makes for a fun yet stressful game when you never know if the gate will slam shut on you halfway through! 😉

IMG_5596

View from the train.

View from our train journey.

So far much of our time and mental energy has been occupied by orientation sessions and training for my new job as an elementary school teacher! I’ve picked up some valuable information, but sometimes it’s a whole lotta frustration, as many things I’m learning vary hugely between campuses, and I know much of the advice is not going to be applicable to my specific school. On the plus side, I’ve met some great people working around the province, and on Friday we’re setting up a contact directory, so we can meet up with one another as we inevitably plan shenanigans and adventures on days and weekends off! One of the presenters expressed interest in introducing new teachers to hiking spots around Seoul and hunting down delicious meals after, and I am all over that idea.

Speaking of food…

Wonderful, delicious gimbap. Pickled radish, spinach, carrot, crab, burdock root, sesame.

Wonderful, delicious gimbap. Pickled radish, spinach, carrot, crab, a ham-like meat, burdock root, sesame.

IMG_5576

IMG_5549

Tteokbokki, a dish made with rice cakes, fish cakes and green onions (sometimes egg as well) in a thick, spicy sauce.

Grace and I picked up some rice cake treats from a local bakery in Dongbaek.

IMG_5599

Sweet and filled with sesame!

Sweet and filled with sesame!

Rice cakes with red bean filling, mmmm.

Rice cakes with red bean filling, mmmm.

I haven’t explored the area around my hotel as thoroughly I’d like, so I’m hoping to remedy that- but I’m not too concerned, as anytime I head out on adventures I’ll need to take a train to the station and transfer to another line. This is the station, by the way- kinda cool!

IMG_5589

IMG_5594

IMG_5592

Did I come all the way to discover… Indian blanketflower, a native species where I grew up??

 Cicadas buzz in the humid air, rains drizzle or drench, storefronts and restaurants beckon, and the people of Korea hustle about in their everyday lives. Stay tuned for more adventures sure to unfold!

2 thoughts on “Don’t cross the yellow line, but do eat the gimbap!

    • Hey Cyn! Today I should do some shadowing/observations, and next week I’ll start teaching lessons with the support of a fellow teacher! The next week I should be onto my own schedule. Eep! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

